Hurricane Florence – help

Hurricane Florence is forecast to be an extremely dangerous major hurricane when it nears the U.S. coast on Friday, especially for the Carolinas but also the Virginia…

Loads of people are currently fleeing the disaster to come and looking for a safe place to stay.  Some are your fellow Belgian citizens ….  If you are willing to open your house for those in need of a shelter, please contact the General Consulate of Atlanta.  Here is their emergency number outside their opening hours: +1 404 271 96 69.

For more info about the hurricanes, visit


Nation Builders Global Leadership Program | 2/16/2017

The Belgian American Chamber of the South is pleased to invite you to The Nation Builders Global Leadership Program Benefit and Reception on Thursday, February 16, 2017 starting at 6 pm.



  • When: Thursday, February 16, 2017 starting at 6 pm
  • Where: Wells Fargo Building | 10th Floor, 171 17th Street NW, Atlanta, GA 30363
  • Free admission but RSVP is required

new floor for the consulate

For your information, the Consulate General of Belgium in Atlanta is moving from the 27th to the 22nd floor and will be closed to the public Dec. 17th at noon until Dec. 22nd.
They hope to be fully operational on Dec. 23rd and highly recommend to call ahead for an appointment.
The consulate provides public services for Belgians abroad who are registered in the consular population register.  If you haven’t done so, it is not too late … imagine the stress of an expired passport for example.  But also think about elections,  change in your civil status, … not to mention that it also offers notary expertise.
As a reminder:
  • Consul General: Ms. Geneviève Verbeek
  • Address: 230 Peachtree Street Nw, Atlanta, GA 30303 | Phone: +1 404-659-2150
  • Opening hours: Monday to Friday from 9 am to 12.30 pm and 2 – 4 pm
  • Emergency number outside opening hours: +1 404 271 96 69
  • Public transit: Peachtree Center Station (Marta)
  • Email
  • Website
  • Its consular district includes 10 southeastern U.S. states: AL, AR, NC, SC, FL, GA, KY, LA, MS & TN